Field of interest:
Specialization in field of interest:
Access for disabled visitors:
Located in the heart of Old Beauport, Maison Girardin recounts the lives of the inhabitants of the Bourg du Fargy district in the 18th and 19th centuries, as well as the origin of this community. Visitors discover how a farmhouse became a museum over 375 years of human occupation and how a seigneury developed into a suburb, as a small community overlooking the St. Lawrence took root.
Elements of French architecture are visibile in the façade of this stone dwelling, which dates from the early 19th century. It is the third home to be built on the site, replacing two wooden houses, the first of which was built prior to 1709. Maison Girardin is run by the Société d'art et d'histoire de Beauport. You can also visit a permanent exhibition on the tradespeople who have contributed to Beauport’s development. An app is available to enhance the exhibition and iPads can be rented on site.
- Restaurant on siteNo
- Picnic areaYes
- Family activitiesYes
- Guided toursYes
- Animation on the siteYes
- Home service and information in EnglishYes
- Products and activities in EnglishNo